Classroom of Silence

Hello my friends,

No rant this week. 🙂  If you prefer rants, I suggest that you read last week’s post again.

I will be going on my annual retreat this weekend.  Although I will be surrounded by many people, this is a weekend marked by solitude, by reflection, by renewal.  My intention (today) is simply to encourage you to schedule time away from the world, away from the phone, the television and yes, the internet.  Turn it all off.

“Wait a minute Ed!  If I turn off all of that stuff, how will I keep up with what’s going on in the world?  What will I do?  Won’t it be boring?”

The short answer to these questions is is that you won’t keep up and the world won’t notice, that you will have time to think, to really think about who you are, where you are in life and what you are grateful for.  Even better, you will have time to reflect on who you want to be, what you want to achieve and how you will conduct yourself going forward.

I’ve been making this annual retreat for a long time now – it has become one of my most cherished traditions.  It is not the food, the accommodations or the entertainment – far from it.  I love this weekend because of the “inside work” that it enables me to do.  I read quite a bit, write many notes and commitments, but mostly I spend time in the “classroom of silence”.    Although I have made completely silent retreats (48 hours without saying a word – really!), most of the retreats are predominantly silent.  I have found that the quiet helps me to hear those inner voices that I often drown out, to focus attention on those gnawing intentions that never see the light of day in a typical week.

This is not a business planning weekend – it is personal.  Very personal.  As I get in the car on Sunday to return home, I will have renewed senses of gratitude and purpose.  It is a wonderful feeling, very exciting.  My batteries will be fully charged and my direction will be aligned with where I’m supposed to go.

Think about it.  There are many retreat centers all over the world.  Although it would be more challenging, you can even create your own retreat without leaving home – easier said than done.  Frankly, it is called a retreat because you need to get away from it all.

So, don’t try to reach me after Friday at 2:00pm.  See you on the other side.

All the best,

Ed

facebook Newsletter Twitter YouTube

By the way, I don’t charge extra for typos. They are my gift to you. :-)

About eddecosta

Business and Executive Coach
This entry was posted in Living With Passion, Professional-Personal Balance, Self-Mastery, Success. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

